What's your day job?

So when you ain’t fiddling with your car, driving your car, washing your car, buying parts for your car, going to car shows with your car, I guess you may be in that dreaded place ‘work’

I currently work as a technical manager and senior engineer at an IT support company in Sheffield city Centre.

So who pays you to do what?

2 Likes

My job title’s “IT Consultant”, but it’s 3rd/4th line support and project work. I spend more time trying to fix people that I do fixing computers.

I’ve recently took the plunge and become self employed, primarily as a handyman. I’ve always been pretty nifty with DIY and such so when my life took a sudden curve ball recently I decided to make a go of it. I love it! I can pick and choose what I do and can basically take on anything folks are willing to pay me for! I find myself working a lot less than I used to when I was employed and get better money for it!!!
There’s no begging for days off when my kids visit, and won’t be next month when my fam from Deepcar are in the county!!!

I used to drive buses when I was employed, and still do occasionally on a free lance basis to keep my hand in, and yes, you guessed it, I get paid more for it now!!!

I’d recommend it to anyone!

2 Likes

I’m an Electrician based out of Rotherham. Work mainly in food factories, power stations and schools. So a nice variety I guess. Hopefully one day soon i’ll be living in Canada doing the same lol

Engine test technician for a well known Midlands vehicle manufacturer. Currently working in diesel exhaust after treatment.

1 Like

While on the weekend i work on customer cars, my kit car/vr ltd and other car releated things during the week i work on cars im a mechanic by trade trust me dont do both. Im having a free weekend this weekend for the first time since x-mas cant bloody wait.

I’m a certified cable tie technician, and I’m currently studying the art of duct taping

2 Likes